Understanding Loan Costs

Personal Loan Fees Explained: What You’ll Pay and How to Avoid Them

Personal loans can come with fees beyond the interest rate. Here’s a clear breakdown of common charges, how they work, and tips for keeping costs down.

A series of coins with small labels like a percentage sign and a warning exclamation, representing various fees.

Overview of Common Personal Loan Fees

When you take out a personal loan, the cost isn't just the interest rate. Lenders may also charge fees for processing, late payments, or paying off the loan early. These fees can vary widely depending on the lender, and they can significantly affect the total amount you’ll repay.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau notes that personal installment loans often include fees such as origination fees, application fees, and late payment fees, in addition to interest. Understanding these fees is essential to budgeting accurately and comparing loan offers effectively.

  • Origination fee: often a percentage of the loan amount, deducted from the loan proceeds before you receive the funds.
  • Late payment fee: charged when you miss a payment or pay after the due date.
  • Prepayment penalty: a fee for paying off the loan ahead of schedule, though less common than in the past.
  • Returned payment fee: applies when a payment is rejected due to insufficient funds.
  • Application fee: a flat charge to process your loan application, though many lenders do not charge it.

Sources: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, LendEDU

Origination fees: what they are

An origination fee is a charge for setting up the loan. According to multiple sources, origination fees on personal loans typically range from 1% to 10% of the loan amount. The fee is usually deducted from the loan proceeds before you receive the money, but you’re still responsible for repaying the full principal.

Some lenders charge no origination fee at all, including Discover, Wells Fargo, SoFi, and several other major banks.

  • Typical range: 1%–10% of the loan amount.
  • Usually deducted from the loan proceeds, but you repay the full loan amount.
  • Some lenders offer loans with no origination fee, such as American Express, Citizens Bank, Discover, PNC, SoFi, and Wells Fargo.

Sources: MyBankTracker, LendEDU, Discover

Late Payment and Returned Payment Fees

Late payment fees are charged when you miss a payment due date. These fees commonly range from $10 to $100 or a percentage of the unpaid payment, often around 5%.

Returned payment fees, also called insufficient funds fees, are incurred when your payment cannot be processed due to insufficient funds. These typically range from $20 to $50, though one lender, Upgrade, discloses a $10 fee for this event.

  • Late fee ranges: $10–$100 or up to 5% of the payment amount.
  • Returned payment fee: often $20–$50, but may be lower at some lenders.
  • Even no-origination-fee lenders may charge late fees.

Sources: MyBankTracker, LendEDU, ConsumerAffairs

Prepayment Penalties: Are They Common?

A prepayment penalty is a fee charged if you pay off your loan before the end of the loan term. Such penalties are less common than they used to be, and many major lenders do not charge them. When they do apply, they typically amount to 1%–2% of the loan balance.

Banks and online lenders that explicitly state no prepayment penalties include Discover, Wells Fargo, SoFi, and several others. Before signing, check the loan agreement to confirm whether a prepayment penalty applies.

  • Prepayment penalties are less common and usually range from 1% to 2% of the remaining loan amount.
  • Many major lenders, including Discover, SoFi, and Wells Fargo, do not charge prepayment penalties.
  • Always review the loan terms for any early payoff fee.

Sources: MyBankTracker, LendEDU, ConsumerAffairs

Other Fees to Watch For

Beyond origination and late fees, lenders may levy other charges. Application fees, if charged, are typically flat fees of $25 to $50, though some sources suggest they can be a percentage of the loan. Some lenders also charge document processing or closing fees, though these are less common for personal loans.

Annual fees are occasionally mentioned but are not widely reported, so it's best to verify with the lender. Always review the loan estimate provided under regulations like the Truth in Lending Act (Regulation Z) to see if any such fees are included.

  • Application fees: flat charges, often $25–$50, and not charged by many lenders.
  • Document or processing fees: may apply, but vary by lender.
  • Check the loan disclosures carefully for any fees not mentioned here.

Sources: MyBankTracker, Experian, ConsumerAffairs, Fortune

How Fees Impact APR and Total Cost

The Annual Percentage Rate (APR) is a more complete measure of borrowing cost than the interest rate alone. APR includes the interest rate plus certain fees, such as origination fees, so it reflects the true yearly cost of the loan. Comparing APRs is a reliable way to gauge which loan is less expensive.

When you compare offers, look at the APR alongside the actual dollar amount of fees. Even if a loan has a lower interest rate, a high origination fee could make it more expensive over time. Use the APR to compare apples to apples.

  • APR includes interest and certain loan fees, making it a more accurate gauge of total cost.
  • A lower interest rate does not always mean a cheaper loan if fees are high.
  • Use APR to compare personal loan offers side-by-side.

Sources: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Credible, Upgrade, Discover

Side-by-Side Comparison: Which Lenders Charge What?

The table below summarizes the origination and late fee policies for several lenders, based on public information available at the time of research. Keep in mind that fee structures can change, so always confirm current terms with the lender before applying.

Sample personal loan fee structures by lender
LenderOrigination FeeLate Fee
American ExpressNoneNot specified
Avant1.50%–4.75%Not specified
Best Egg0.99%–5.99%Not specified
CitibankNoneNot specified
Citizens BankNoneNot specified
DiscoverNone$39
LendingClub1.0%–6.0%Not specified
PNC BankNone$40
Prosper1.0%–5.0%Not specified
RocketLoans1.0%–6.0%Not specified
SantanderNoneNot specified
SoFiNoneNot specified
TD BankNoneNot specified
Upstart0%–8.0%Not specified
Wells FargoNoneNot specified

Sources: MyBankTracker, Discover, Wells Fargo, CNBC Select

Frequently asked questions

What is an origination fee?

An origination fee is a charge a lender applies for processing a new loan. It is often a percentage of the loan amount, typically between 1% and 10%, and is usually deducted from the loan proceeds before you receive the funds. You still repay the full loan principal, so the fee effectively increases your cost of borrowing.

Sources: MyBankTracker, LendEDU, Discover
Do all personal loans have an origination fee?

No, not all personal loans have an origination fee. Many lenders, including Discover, Wells Fargo, SoFi, and several major banks, offer personal loans with no origination fee. However, these lenders may still charge other fees, such as late payment fees. Always check the loan terms to see what fees apply.

Sources: MyBankTracker, Discover, Wells Fargo
Are there any personal loans with no fees?

Yes, some lenders explicitly state they charge no origination, closing, or prepayment penalties. For example, Discover and Wells Fargo advertise zero origination fees, zero closing costs, and no prepayment penalties. However, they may still charge late fees if you miss a payment, so it's important to read the full fee schedule.

Sources: Discover, Wells Fargo
How can I avoid paying late fees?

The best way to avoid late fees is to make your loan payments on time. Consider setting up automatic payments from your bank account or creating reminders on your phone. Some lenders may offer a grace period, but it's not guaranteed. If you anticipate a problem, contact your lender as soon as possible to discuss options.

Is a prepayment penalty the same as an origination fee?

No, a prepayment penalty is not the same as an origination fee. An origination fee is charged upfront for setting up the loan, while a prepayment penalty is charged if you pay off the loan early. Both are fees that can increase your cost, but they apply at different times. Prepayment penalties are less common, and many lenders do not charge them.

Sources: MyBankTracker, LendEDU, ConsumerAffairs

Sources

  1. Do personal installment loans have fees? — Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  2. Understanding online marketplace lending — Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  3. 6 Personal Loan Fees That You Need To Know — MyBankTracker
  4. Common Personal Loan Fees & Charges | LendEDU — LendEDU
  5. How To Compare Personal Loans: A Step-by-Step Guide — Credible
  6. 5 Personal Loan Fees to Watch Out For — Experian
  7. Online Personal Loans from $2500 to $40000 — Discover
  8. Personal loans: See options and apply online | Wells Fargo — Wells Fargo
  9. Here are the 6 best personal loans from big banks — CNBC Select
  10. Personal Loan Fees Explained: Understanding the Cost of Borrowing — Upgrade
  11. Personal Loan Statistics (2026 Data) — ConsumerAffairs
  12. What Is a Personal Loan Origination Fee? — Discover
  13. 5 costs to watch for when getting a personal loan in 2026 — Fortune